Friday, May 22, 2015

North Sydney Heritage Museum, Nova Scotia

Thirty years ago, the people of North Sydney, Nova Scotia built a heritage museum because they wanted some place to put all of their artifacts and paper documents.

They have just recently renovated the place, and now they have a number of exhibitions on display.  These exhibits centre around immigration, transportation, the military and communication.

They are also planning to have a number of speakers come to the museum this summer, and one of them will be Joan Dawson who has written A History of Nova Scotia in 50 Objects. She will appear on Monday the 25 of May from 7-8 p.m.

She has also authored Mapmaker's Legacy, Nova Scotia's Lost Highways, and Nova Scotia's Historic Rivers.

The website is


Need help in finding your Canadian ancestors?

As a nod of the hat to the Ontario Genealogical Conference being held in Barrie, Ontario from May 29 to May 31, may we take this opportunity to offer a month-long discount on our research and consultation services of 15% (ends 11 June at midnight).

Just go to Elizabeth Lapointe Research Services at, or send an email with the subject "special" to to see how I can help you find that elusive Canadian ancestor!

Research Tip!  There are immigration records for North Sydney from November 1906 to August 1922. The immigrants came from Newfoundland and St-Pierre et Miquelon.  r========================================================================

Check the Canadian Week in Review every Monday morning for the latest in Genealogy, Heritage, and History news in Canada.

If you missed this week’s edition, it is at
It’s the ONLY news blog of its kind in Canada

Canadian genealogist to present Family Tree University webinar

If you don’t know who Janice Nickerson is already, she is a professional Canadian genealogist from Toronto, Ontario who has been asked by Family Tree University to give a live, one-hour webinar called Canadian Genealogy Crash Course on Tuesday, May 26th, starting at 7 pm Eastern (6 pm Central/5 pm Mountain/4 pm Pacific).

To register for the course, go to

Janice has been doing Canadian genealogy for 30 years, so she knows her stuff.

There will be a live Q&A after the webinar, so be sure to have your questions ready!

Janice also has a website at Upper Canada Genealogy (helping you trace your Ontario roots…) at