The following place in Prince Edward Island received the provincial Heritage Places Protection Act this summer -
SOURIS TOWN HALL & the McLEAN HOUSE INN, Souris
Built in 1905, the Souris Town Hall was built of Island sandstone. It was the post office and customs house for the town until the 1960s when the post office relocated.
The McLean House Inn, Souris was built in 1875 for John McLean (1845-1936), partner in the very successful Matthew and McLean business.
For the website of the town of Souris, go to
FARMERS' BANK of Rustico
Built between 1861-1864 of locally quarried Island sandstone, the Farmers’ Bank was established to provide low interest loans to local farmers. It was to be one of the first credit unions of the province.
To read about the Farmer's Bank, go to http://www.farmersbank.ca
BARACHOIS INN, Anglo Rustico
The Barachois Inn was built in 1880 for Joseph Gallant, a prosperous local merchant.
To read about the inn, you can go to the website http://www.barachoisinn.com
ST. JAMES UNITED CHURCH, West Covehead
St. James United Church is a fine example of a rectangular Meeting House, with Classical Revival architectural design elements.
There are pictures of the church on this site at http://peiheritagebuildings.blogspot.com/2011/07/st-james-united-church-west-covehead.html